Got there at about 7pm on Monday. Sat down with DP at the 1/2 first, broke even, went to the 2/5 NL at about 8:30pm. Rebought 300 more. Slow played AA on the button to a raise, and quickly got my stack up to 800. Raised with 107 of diamonds to 30 at middle position. I wanted to balance my raising range, I purposely raised 6x the BB to 30 with suited connector. Only one caller, flop came A96 with 2 diamonds, I lead out 50, the donkey quickly raised me to 150. He only had about 350 behind, I wanted to move in but I know he's not folding. There was no folding equality vs. those donkies. He looked strong too. So, I called the 100, and hit the perfect card at the turn, an off suited "8". I got the hidden nuts straight. I checked, he moved allin, and I instantly called. and my hand held up. That got me to about 1600. Then this hand happened:
A good Nautica regular player raised to 25 at mid position, I looked down at A10 of diamonds at the cutoff, I called. Flop came A109 with 2 clubs, he let out for 50, I raised him to 125. He didn't look happy and called the rise quickly. Turn came A. Now I got the absolute nuts, he checked, since we were both so deep, he had over 2k, I wanted to get some value, I bet out 200. He thought about a second and called the 200. River came J. He checked again, I thought to myself " this is a great spot, he probably has Aq, or Ak" So I bet out 400, and he thought about a bit and said "All-in". I had about 1k left. My instinct told me he's so strong, I went over a couple of hands in my mind. Would he really do it with A9 here? My image is fairly tight at the table, A10, Aj are definitely part of my range, i think he knows that. He's not like majority of the donkies at the 2/5 who overplay hands. I 100% ruled out he had AK, AQ. He would never played AK AQ like that. Does he have JJ, or 99 for under fullhouse? I seriously doubt it. He wouldnt called my turn bet of 200 with JJ on the board of AA109, if he had 99, he probably would have re-raised me at the flop after I raised him to 125 due to a such drawy board. He must have AJ, that's the only hand that makes the perfect sense given the action on each street. He has to have AJ, thats what I was thinking. But it wsa still a tough fold given I was only beaten by 1 specific hand. But I folded and he didn't show. I guess we would never know, but he's a fairly good player, I think I made the right fold. But we never know. Maybe we had the same hand.